You can check the status of jury summons below for both the 81st and 218th District Courts. Find your county and your original summons date to check the current status and other details.
Jury Duty Status Announcements:
FRIO COUNTY JURORS – 11/14/2022 SUMMONS – DISTRICT COURT: Jury Duty set for November 14, 2022 in Frio County District Court has been CANCELLED. There is no need to appear at the Courthouse in Pearsall, Texas at 9:00 a.m.
LaSALLE COUNTY JURORS – 12/12/2022 SUMMONS – DISTRICT COURT: Jury Duty set for December 12, 2022 in LaSalle County District Court has been CANCELLED. There is no need to appear at the Courthouse in Cotulla, Texas at 9:00 a.m.
Frequently Asked Questions About Jury Duty
Most of the laws regarding jury service can be found in the Texas Government Code at Chapter 62. Some of the laws specific to answering the jury summons begin at Section 62.0141 .
Why Is Jury Service Important?
The United States Constitution and the Texas Constitution guarantee all people, regardless of race, religion, sex, national origin, or economic status, the right to trial by an impartial jury. Justice ultimately depends to a large measure upon the quality of the jurors who serve in our courts.
What Is My Duty As A Juror?
As a juror, you must be fair and impartial. Your actions and decisions must be free of any bias or prejudice. Your actions and decisions are the foundation of our judicial system.
How Was I Selected?
You were selected at random from a list of voter registrations and a list of driver registrations from the county in which you live. This list is compiled and provided to your county by the Texas Secretary of State.
Am I Eligible?
1. Be a citizen of the United States and of this State.
2. Be at least 18 years of age.
3. Reside in the county of jury service.
4. Be able to read and write.
5. Be of sound mind.
Who Can Be Excused From Jury Service?
You are entitled to be excused as a juror if you:
1. Are over 70 years of age;
2. Have legal custody of a child under 10 years of age and jury service would leave the child unsupervised;
3. Are a student in class at a private or public secondary school or are enrolled and in actual attendance at an institution of higher education;
4. Have served as a petit juror in the county during the preceding 24-month period or have been called to serve within the last 6 months;
5. Are an officer or an employee of the Senate, the House of Representatives, or any department, commission, board, office, or other agency in the legislative branch of state government, or;
6. Are the caretaker of a person who is unable to care for themselves (an invalid).
What Must I Do To Be Excused From Jury Service?
If you are eligible to claim an exemption listed in the section above (also shown on the back of your Jury Summons) and wish to claim it, fill out the information on the Jury Exemption Statement part of the Jury Summons form, sign your name, and enter the date. Return it to the address shown on your summons.
Will I Be Paid For Being A Juror?
Yes. You will be paid a minimum of $6.00 for each day you actually serve on the jury and for the initial “show-up” day. You will also be given an opportunity to donate your juror pay to one of several worthwhile charities related to the criminal justice system. Effective January 1, 2006, juror pay has been increased to $40 per day for each day of actual service on the jury.
Must My Employer Pay Me While I Am On Jury Duty?
Your employer is not required to pay you while on jury duty, however, employers are prohibited by law from firing an employee for serving as a juror.
Is there a Dress Code?
Shorts are NOT permitted. Nor are “logo” T-shirts, dirty, or torn clothing. Appropriate dress is required.
Are There Rules About Jury Conduct?
Yes. The Texas Supreme Court has rules to assist you in your conduct as a juror which will be given to you by the judge.
What Should I Bring With Me When Reporting For Service?
Bring your completed JURY SUMMONS form that you received in the mail.
It is also a good idea to bring a magazine or other appropriate reading material as there are times when prospective jurors must wait while litigants, attorneys, judges, and clerks perform functions separate from jurors. If selected to serve in petit jury, the judge in the court will issue specific instructions that may differ from those listed herein. You may also want to bring a light jacket or sweater as some of the courtrooms can be cool at times.
Where Do I Report To For Jury Service?
You are to report to the District Court Courtroom at the address shown on your summons. You may also visit the County Directions page for directions.
Why Do Jury Weeks Cancel?
Jury Weeks cancel for many reasons, the principle one being that cases settle.
How Is A Juror Selected For A Particular Case?
A juror may be excused from the panel if it is shown that the juror cannot act impartially concerning the case to be heard. In addition, each side is allowed to remove a given number of jurors from the panel without having to show any reason. The trial jury will be the first six or 12 of the remaining jurors on the panel.
What Is Voir Dire Or Questioning Of The Jury Panel?
It is a way for the parties to select a fair and impartial jury. Under the justice system, you may be questioned by each of the lawyers before they decide to remove a certain number of jurors from the jury panel.
For example, the lawyer may ask you questions to see if you are connected to the trial or if you have any prejudice or bias toward anyone in the trial. These questions are not intended to embarrass you, but rather to help the lawyers in the jury selection process. You may ask the judge to allow you to answer some questions away from the other jurors.
What If I Have A Special Need or Emergency?
After you have been selected as a juror on a trial panel, if you have a special need or an emergency, tell the bailiff.
What Are The Different Types Of Cases?
There are two basic types of cases, criminal and civil (including family cases).
Criminal Cases – A criminal case results when a person is accused of committing a crime. You, as a juror, must decide whether the person charged is guilty or not guilty. The accused person is presumed innocent, and the State, represented by the District or County Attorney, must prove guilt “beyond a reasonable doubt”.
Civil Cases – A civil case results from a disagreement or dispute between two or more parties. In a civil case, you, as a juror, must answer questions of disputed facts based upon the testimony and evidence admitted by the judge. The answers to these questions are called the verdict.
Who Can Have A Jury Trial?
Any person charged with a criminal offense or any party to a civil case has a right to a jury trial. All parties are equal before the law and each is entitled to the same fair treatment.
What is the Order Of Events Of The Trial?
Opening Statements – The lawyers for each side may explain the case, the evidence they will present, and the issues for you to decide.
Presentation of Evidence – The evidence consists of the testimony of witnesses and the exhibits allowed by the judge. Exhibits admitted into evidence will be available to the jury for examination during deliberations. You have a right to ask for them. You will be asked to make decisions regarding disputed facts; therefore, your attention at all times is critically important. Juror note taking or the use of any notes will be determined by the judge.
Rulings by the Judge – The judge may be asked to decide questions of law during the trial. Occasionally, the judge may ask jurors to leave the courtroom while the lawyers make their legal arguments. The jurors should understand that such interruptions are needed to make sure that their verdict is based upon proper evidence, as determined by the judge under the Rules of Evidence. You may give the evidence whatever weight you consider appropriate.
Instructions to the Jury – At the close of all the evidence, the judge may submit to the jury the Charge of the Court. This will include legal instructions on this particular case and the questions that the jury is to answer from the evidence admitted.
Closing Arguments – After the Charge of the Court, the lawyers have the opportunity to summarize the evidence in their closing arguments and to try to persuade the jury to accept their client’s view of the case.
Deliberations and Verdict of the Jury – Following closing arguments, the jury is sent to deliberate. When the jury has answered the questions asked of them they shall return their verdict. The verdict must be based solely on the evidence presented by the parties, the Charge of the Court, and the rules of law provided by the judge.
When In Doubt, Ask The Judge – You have the right to communicate with the judge regarding any matters affecting your deliberations, including but not limited to: physical comfort; special needs; any questions regarding evidence; or the Charge of the Court. During deliberation, if it becomes necessary to communicate with the judge, the bailiff or the officer of the court will deliver jurors’ notes to the judge. The information on this website is not intended to take the place of the instructions given by the judge in any case. In the event of conflict, the judge’s instructions will prevail.
Note: Not all of these rules apply in Justice of the Peace or Municipal Courts. Some information shown herein was originally created with a grant from the Texas Bar Foundation. For the actual booklet from the Texas Bar Foundation, call the State Bar of Texas at 800-204-2222 .